About Us



APC will enhance economic development in Alabama using UA resources to increase productivity in organizations
by solving real-world problems while providing positive experiences for students.


In an effort to improve economic development in the state of Alabama, the Alabama Productivity Center was established on January 1, 1986, on the University of Alabama campus. The mission of the APC is to focus research and educational resources on the enhancement of productivity and quality within Alabama businesses and the state's industry. The Alabama Productivity Center, a non-profit organization, is an outcome of a 1983 joint venture of the University of Alabama and General Motors to save a Tuscaloosa GM plant from closing. The positive experience utilizing university faculty and students to save Alabama jobs led to the establishment and sponsorship by Alabama Power Company and the University of Alabama.

In 1996, APC became home to Region 3 of the Alabama Technology Network (ATN), the Manufacturing Extension Partnership program of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) for the state of Alabama. Headquartered in Montgomery, the ATN brings together a set of sixteen regional centers covering the entire state and serving the technical assistance and workforce development needs of small- and medium-sized manufacturing firms. The APC’s accomplishments, such as recognition by the National Council for Urban Development and the U.S. Economic Development Administration as an “innovative” and “imaginative” program, demonstrate that the APC is a valuable resource for Alabama businesses.


Alan Hill

Executive Director

Tom Morgan

Productivity Engineer

Morgan Harrison

Productivity Engineer

Jan Ingenrieth

Business Services Specialist

Jody Beck

Productivity Engineer

Justin Rodgers

Productivity Engineer

Tara Johnson

Business Manager


The Alabama Prodcutivity Center Advisory Board is made of industry, government, and economic development leaders in Alabama that provide guidance to APC to help them better serve clients in the business and industry sector.


Dean Kay Palan

Dean, Culverhouse College of Business

Ed Castile

Deputy Secretary of Commerce/Director of AIDT

Dr. Samuel Addy

Associate Dean for Economic Development Outreach, Culverhouse College of Business

Brad Cork


Danny Garrett

Disctrict 44 Representative

Rolf Wrona

Vice President of Human Resources

Tonjanita Johnson

Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs

Fitzgerald Washington

Secretary of Labor

Greg Barker

Alabama Power

Senior Vice-President

Greg Canfield

Secretary of Commerce

Jim Searcy

Executive Director

Joel McMahon


John Stivender

Vice President

Dr. John Wiest

Associate Dean UA College of Engineering

Randy Rogers

Director, Site Communications & Governmental Affairs

Ken Tucker

Director, State and Local Government Operations, SE Region

Mark Brazeal

Vice President

Michelle Hurdle

Economic and Community Development, Government Relations

Steve Sewell

Executive Vice President

Mike Swinson

Director, Economic Development Alabama/Mississippi

Nancy Goedecke

Chairman & CEO

Nisa Miranda

Director of University of Alabama Office of Economic Development